Kennesaw Mountain 9/15/12

This Saturday, my father and I visited Kennesaw Mountain for an Atlanta Audubon Society field trip along with a fellow teen birder who I met at Hog Island this summer. The day was very slow, most likely because of the lack of rain in the past few weeks. I only saw seven species of warblers and 25 species total but I missed Tennessee Warbler which would have been a lifer for me and Hooded Warbler. The mountain was good for butterflies, though. I got one lifer butterfly and 6 species total. My lifer, Hackberry Emperor, actually landed on me and my friend multiple times. It seemed to like us quite a bit, although not enough to sit still long enough to let me get a picture! I was slightly saddened when it finally flew away only to get swatted at by two people who did not want to be bothered by the “moth.” I also got two tree lifers and two wildflower lifers. Highlights were phenomenal looks at Eastern Wood-Pewees, American Redstarts and a White-eyed Vireo, multitudes of Summer and Scarlet Tanagers and being reunited with my favorite warbler once again, the Northern Parula! Here are the lists and photos:

Birds (25 species, 0 lifers):
Red-bellied Woodpecker 10
Downy Woodpecker 4
Eastern Wood-Pewee 5
White-eyed Vireo 1
Yellow-throated Vireo 3
Blue Jay 10
Carolina Chickadee 15
Tufted Titmouse 5
White-breasted Nuthatch 5
Brown-headed Nuthatch 1
Carolina Wren 10
Eastern Bluebird 10
American Robin 20
Northern Mockingbird 1
Northern Parula 1
Chestnut-sided Warbler 3
Black-throated Green Warbler 10
Pine Warbler 5
Palm Warbler 1
Black-and White Warbler 1
American Redstart 3
Summer Tanager 5
Scarlet Tanager 10
Eastern Towhee 1
Northern Cardinal 5

Butterflies (6 species, 1 lifer):
Red Admiral
Cabbage White
Cloudless Sulphur
Gray Hairstreak
Gulf Fritillary
*Hackberry Emperor

Wildflowers (5 species, 3 lifers)
*Small Red Morning Glory
Horse Nettle
*Spiderwort
Asiatic Dayflower
*Swamp Sunflower
Morning Glory Spp.

Trees (6 species, 2 lifers):
*Chestnut Oak
Loblolly Pine
Northern Red Oak
Southern Red Oak
Yellow Poplar
*Blackgum

Vines (2 species, 0 lifers):
Muscadine
Virginia Creeper
Other Grapevine Species

Lichens (1 species, 0 lifers) :
Candleflame Lichen
Ruffle Lichen Spp.

Other Plants (1 species, 0 lifers):
Sumac

Virginia Creeper
Sumac Species
Cabbage White
Eastern Wood-Pewee
Downy Woodpecker
