Dunwoody Nature Center 7/4/12

Yesterday I got up at about 6:30 AM, ate breakfast, and went with my father to the Dunwoody Nature Center to look for wildlife. I have been interested in birds for about four years now but am just getting interested in other areas of nature like reptiles, amphibians, flowers, trees, ferns, shrubs, lichens, lepidoptera (butterflies and moths), and dragonflies and damselflies. My dad and I hopped along the rocks down the stream there, called Wildcat Creek, and lifted up stones as we went along to look for amphibians. We found quite a lot and I got three new species of trees: American Yellowwood, Willow Oak and Shortleaf Pine and one new species of fern: Virginia Chain Fern. There were a few things I couldn’t identify: a salamander that quickly slipped away and a certain type of fern. There is also a garden right at the end of the road with some cool shrubs including: Foamflower, Bleeding Heart, Dwarf Walter’s Viburnum, Sweetspire, Beautyberry, Rhododendron Admiral Semmes, Wood Poppy and Oakleaf Hydrangea. Of course I also paid attention to the birds and one thing that stuck out was a Carolina Wren singing a song I had never heard one sing before. I know they have a lot of songs, but I usually can tell a Carolina Wren just by how the notes in its song sound, sort of like it has its own language. I could not identify this individual until I saw it in the tree from which it was vocalizing. It is definitely a really cool place and I will be going there more this summer! I did not keep track of individual birds, but here is a list of the species of wildlife we saw:
Birds (8 species, 0 lifers):
Northern Cardinal
Carolina Chickadee
Red-bellied Woodpecker
Carolina Wren
Eastern Towhee
Blue Jay
Tufted Titmouse
American Robin

Trees (7 species, 2 lifers):
Japanese Maple
*Shortleaf Pine
Eastern Redbud
*Willow Oak
Loblolly Pine
Red Maple
Sweetgum

Amphibians (1 species, 1 lifer):
*Southern Leopard Frog
Salamander species

Reptiles (1 species, 0 lifers):
Eastern Box Turtle

Wildflowers (1 species, 1 lifer):
*Orange Jewelweed

Shrubs (8 species, 7 lifers):
*Foamflower
*Bleeding Heart
*Dwarf Walter’s Viburnum
*Sweetspire
*Beautyberry
*Rhododendron Admiral Semmes
*Wood Poppy
Oakleaf Hydrangea

Ferns (3 species, 1 lifer):
Christmas Fern
*Virginia Chain Fern
Autumn Fern
Fern species

Arthropods (2 species, 0 lifers):
Water Strider
Crawfish

Fish:
Minnows

Lepidoptera (1 species, 0 lifers):
Cabbage White

Eastern Box Turtle
Water Strider
