Hog Island Adventure Part 1-Arrival

        I spent the past five days at the National Audubon Society Hog Island Birding Camp for teens just off the coast of Maine. I got in on Sunday 6/24/12 and had to fly from Atlanta to Portland and drive an hour and a half to get to the minute long ferry ride to the 330 acre island. I could not believe my eyes because the Island was so beautiful! I did not see too many species of  birds the very first day because it was spent getting the campers oriented and I got to the island at around 4 PM, but I did get one lifer as we crossed over in the boat: the Black Guillemot. The island was covered in Red Spruce trees (among others), lichen and moss. I also soon learned that the island had some interesting mammals, mainly Red Squirrels and Meadow Voles and many giant but slow mosquitoes. There was an Osprey nest with a camera on the island not too far from where we ate. Speaking of food, the cook did an amazing job and we ate gourmet meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Here is a rough list of the species seen on the first day:
Northern Mockingbird 1
House Sparrow 3
Chimney Swift 5
Osprey 2
Herring Gull 1
Laughing Gull 5
Northern Cardinal 2
Black Guillemot 5
American Crow 10

Osprey
