Savannah National Wildlife Refuge 6/16/12

This past Saturday, my father and I went to the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge looking for mainly Purple Gallinules as they are summer visitors. We did not get too many species, only 16 in fact, but we did see our target bird many times so I was satisfied! Other highlights included Anhingas and the Black-bellied Whistling Ducks that have made a colony on the Georgia coast even though they are usually found in South America. I had only seen Black-bellied Whistling Ducks one other time at Altamaha Wildlife Management Area as they flew overhead very quickly. This time I got a much better look and some great pictures! The Purple Gallinule was my only lifer and here is the full list of species:
Red-winged Blackbird-30
Wood Stork 3
Mourning Dove 3
Common Grackle 15
Carolina Chickadee 1
Northern Cardinal 2
Turkey Vulture 2
Common Gallinule 10
Great Blue Heron 1
Little Blue Heron 4
Great Egret 8
Purple Gallinule 4
Snowy Egret 8
Anhinga 2
Black-bellied Whistling Ducks 7
Double-crested Cormorant 3

Black-bellied Whistling-Duck
White Water Lily
Anhinga
Wood Stork
Great Blue Heron
Snowy Egret
