Kennesaw Mountain 4/28/12

     Today I went with my dad and met up with a group of 90+ birders on an Atlanta Audubon Society walk up Kennesaw Mountain. We saw a total of 39 species and I got 6 lifers! Some highlights were the Summer and Scarlet Tanagers, the Indigo Buntings, the Chestnut-sided and Magnolia Warblers, the Northern Parula, the Great-crested Flycatcher and the Eastern Wood-pewee. The Magnolia Warbler and Northern Parula both serenaded us with their brilliant songs. The Magnolia’s song is a “weta-weta-weta” that is often mistaken for a Hooded Warbler’s “a-wit a-wit a-wit tee-yo.” The Northern Parula’s song is an ascending collection of buzzy trills with a final note at the end. There was also a Yellow-billed Cuckoo, but I only saw it for a split second as it flew across the road. I saw a total of 9 warbler species; one more than the my trip last Sunday. However, I did not see the Black-and-white Warbler, Cape May Warbler, Canada Warbler and Yellow-rumped Warbler that the rest of the group got. I also did not see an Audubon’s Yellow-rumped Warbler, a Prarie Warbler, a Black-throated Blue Warbler, or an American Redstart like I saw last Sunday. I also missed the Sharp-shinned Hawk frome last Sunday, but got an Osprey instead, and I only saw a Red-Eyed Vireo, whereas last Sunday I saw that species and  White-eyed and Yellow-throated Vireos. However, the rest of the group heard those two species today. I saw one more lifer than last Sunday, so overall, today was a better day! We also saw a female deer in the woods fairly close to us. Here is a list of the species we saw:

Northern Cardinal 6
Carolina Chickadee 3
Downy Woodpecker 7
Red-bellied Woodpecker 5
Summer Tanager 7
Chipping Sparrow 2
Rose-breasted Grosbeak 3
Hooded Warbler 4
Northern Mockingbird 2
American Robin 10
Eastern Phoebe 1
Tufted Titmouse 9
*Great-crested Flycatcher 1
Eastern Towhee 3
*Eastern Wood-pewee 1
Scarlet Tanager 2
Blue Jay 5
Carolina Wren 5
White-breasted Nuthatch 2
Red-eyed Vireo 6
Indigo Bunting 3
Ruby-crowned Kinglet 2
Black-throated Green Warbler 4
*Chestnut-sided Warbler 2
*Blackburnian Warbler 2
Mourning Dove 4
Blue-gray Gnatcatcher 1
Pine Warbler 3
Western Palm Warbler 5
Yellow-billed Cuckoo 1
Magnolia Warbler 2
Turkey Vulture 2
Northern Parula 1
Blackpoll Warbler 1
American Crow 1
Red-tailed Hawk 2
Cooper’s Hawk 1
Brown Thrasher 1
Osprey 1
American Robin
Mourning Dove
Red-eyed Vireo
