Great Backyard Bird Count 2012

        Every year, the Great Backyard Bird Count is conducted and I am excited because this is my first year participating.  People all over the US count birds in parks, their backyard, or on field trips with societies like the National Audubon Society.  They then report their findings online. This year’s count was this past weekend, starting Friday and ending Monday.  On Monday, my dad and I sat behind our blind in our backyard and watched for birds for 45 minutes.  I said that I wanted at least 15 species, and I got just that many! Here is a list of the species seen:
Red-bellied Woodpecker 3
Downy Woodpecker 4
Blue Jay 1
American Crow 3
Carolina Chickadee 15
Tufted Titmouse 8
White-breasted Nuthatch 1
Brown-headed Nuthatch 4
Eastern Bluebird 3
Cedar Waxwing 10
Yellow-rumped Warbler 1
Eastern Towhee 1
Song Sparrow 3
Northern Cardinal 3
American Goldfinch 1
While we did not see some birds like the Red-Shouldered Hawk I saw earlier on that day, American Robins that I heard just minutes after I stopped counting, Chipping Sparrows, Dark-Eyed Juncos (which I expected to see) and the one I was really looking for-the Brown Creeper with its long, decurved bill and long tail, it was nonetheless a great experience and I feel great that I helped out with counting! 

Blue Jay
