Cochran Shoals Trip 3/31/12

     My father and I went to the Cochran Shoals Unit of the Chattahoochee River today from 5:30 to 6:45. We saw 18 total species including two lifers for me. There were close to 10 individuals of a species of swallow flying over the water. I have narrowed the species choices down to Tree Swallow or adult Northern Rough-winged Swallow. I did not get a great look at the species, but from what I saw, the swallows looked like they had brown on their backs rather than the dark gray to black on the backs of the other contestant, the drab adult Tree Swallow. I also saw that there was some light brown on the sides of the breast just near the wing, which is not seen on the drab adult Tree Swallow. This leads me to conclude that the species was indeed a Northern Rough-winged Swallow, a lifer for me! Here is the complete list of species seen:

Carolina Wren 1
Downy Woodpecker 1
Red-wellied Woodpecker 1
Canada Goose 40
Carolina Chickadee 10
Northern Cardinal 4
Eastern Bluebird 1
Mallard 20
Domestic Mallard 1
Double-crested Cormorant 15
Osprey 2
Fish Crow 5
* Northern Rough-winged Swallow 10
* Blue-gray Gnatcatcher 1
Red-winged Blackbird 2
Spotted Sandpiper 1
Great Blue Heron 2
Mourning Dove 2
*=A lifer for me!

Mallard
