Cloudland Canyon State Park 6/4/12

         This past weekend I visited Cloudland Canyon State Park in the northwest corner of Georgia with a group of students on a school trip. While the trip was not for birding, I still managed to take some mental notes of the birds I encountered. Surprisingly, I mainly heard birds rather than seeing them. I did, however, get a pretty good look at a male Scarlet Tanager in a tree for about a minute long in a tree 30 feet away and 20 feet hight. Here is a list of the 14 species (+1 other taxa) I saw or heard:
Turkey Vulture-Seen
Red-bellied Woodpecker-Heard
Downy Woodpecker-Heard
American Crow-Heard
Carolina Chickadee-Heard
Tufted Titmouse-Heard
American Robin-Heard
Black-throated Blue Warbler-Heard
Black-throated Green Warbler-Heard
Ovenbird-Heard
Scarlet Tanager (male)-Seen
Northern Cardinal-Heard
Brown Thrasher-Seen
Eastern Towhee-Heard
Bird of Prey Species-Seen from afar

Eastern Towhee
